Heaven

I wrote this in 2005 while I was on my second world tour.

If I were to die and stand outside those beautiful gates,
I would look up to St. Peter, thinking of my fate.
Standing there while he looked me up and down,
I would tell him this with not even a frown:

“My name is Jason Vandeberg, and I am doing very well,
And I say this, sir, because I am finally out of hell.
No longer will I ever have to hurt or cry,
Nor will I have to hear another lie.
I lived my life to my best ability,
Learning to take every opportunity.
But I stand here now, sir, and I ponder one thing;
Am I pure enough to hear your angels sing?”

Jason Vandeberg

Leave a Reply

