Grace – My Favorite Gift

hands(35)You have also given me the shield of Your salvation, And Your right hand upholds me; And Your gentleness makes me great.
(36)You enlarge my steps under me, And my feet have not slipped.
Psalm 18:35-36 (NASB)

The word “grace” in the Bible means unmerited favor. Heavy emphasis on the “unmerited” part. Simply put, it means none of us can work it up, make it perfect on our own, or achieve God‘s love by what we do. In short, God simply loves us because He loves us. If you think about it, that is amazing – considering He’s the Guy Who created the universe.

The battles we must fight are real. They range in everything from finances to relationships, physical to spiritual. All of this requires faith, but in all of it, there is God’s wonderful, awesome grace.

My husband and I used to live in a less than 900-square-foot home that had no kitchen cabinets, no closets, and no light fixtures (only bare light bulbs handing by a wire). The basement was always damp, as it was made of stones that leaked water in wet weather. The house had lots of mice. We had a very large Newfoundland dog and no fence. Myron’s teenage son lived with us off and on, which made us pretty cramped for space. The previous tenant was a smoker, so the vague smell of cigarettes permeated the pain on the walls. We both had very stressful jobs, and very little income. Myron was working graveyard shift at the mental health facility. Both of us nearly went crazy in the confined space and hectic schedule.

One day, I cracked around the edges and started swearing at the Lord. Yes, I lost it. I threw one whale of a temper tantrum to my Savior. After my tirade, the phone rang and I was invited to a meeting with a minister at a friend’s home that night. I needed to get away, so I went.

The minute I walked in the door, before any introductions, the minister walked up to me, stuck out his hand to shake mine, and said, “The Lord say to you, you don’t have to talk to Me that way.”

Wow. That took me aback. I was embarrassed, but mostly blessed that the Lord had heard me. I didn’t have the tantrum to a God who wasn’t listening. He heard every bad word. I was excited. Within a few months, He made a way for us to obtain a real house with cabinets and real light fixtures. His love endures forever. His gentleness brought life back to my heart.

Our God is gentle, and He loves us more than life itself. He hears every word we speak or think, and we should be very grateful. I love him because He hears me, even when I’m not in the best of moods. He hears me when I’m broken and weeping. He hears me when I’m angry. He doesn’t turn me away when I can’t handle the situation; He covers me with His Grace and gives me His strength. And that gives me great joy.

Today, God wants you to know that His gentleness will make you great. His salvation is sure, His love is forever, and He will never fail you, no matter how badly you may fail Him. He is eternal, and He showers us with strength and grace in everything we face. He loves you!

(This information is used by permission from “Whispers of Heaven” by Rosalie Storment and Fay Higbee, copyrighted 2011.)

Leave a Reply

